Walmersley
|
|
|
|
WALMERSLEY, a village, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Bury parish and district, Lancashire. The village stands near Summerseat r. station, 2¼ miles N of Bury; carries on manufactures similar to those of Bury; and has a post-office under Bury, Lancashire. The township includes Shuttleworth, 2½ miles to the N; and bears the name of W.-cum-Shuttleworth. Acres, 5,056. Real property, £20,417; of which £400 are in mines, £228 in quarries, and £163 in gasworks. Pop. in 1851, 4,802; in 1861, 5,298. Houses, 1,003. The chapelry excludes Shuttleworth, and was constituted in 1843. Pop. in 1861, 3,269. Houses, 628. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £130. Patrons, Trustees. The church is good; and there are Independent and Wesleyan chapels, a national school, and charities £23. The sub-district excludes part of W. township, but includes small parts of three other townships. Pop. in 1861, 5,062. Houses, 964.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bury library.Cemeteries
- St John in the Wilderness, Church Road, Church of England, Shuttleworth
- Christ Church, Walmersley Rd, Church of England
- Park, Independent
- Rowlands Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Summerseat
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Walmersley.Church History
Church Records
- Spring St, Baptist, Shuttleworth
- St John in the Wilderness, Church Road, Church of England, Shuttleworth
- Christ Church, Walmersley Rd, Church of England
- Park, Independent
- Turn at lane, Primitive Methodist, Summerseat
- Rowlands Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Summerseat
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Walmersley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Walmersley area is Bury.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Walmersley which are provided by:Directories
David Greenhalgh has extracted entries from Pigot's 1828 Directory.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Walmersley to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Walmersley and Shuttleworth was a township in the parish of Bury.History
A description of Walmersley in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Walmersley and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD804138 (Lat/Lon: 53.620364, -2.297798), Walmersley which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Walmersley was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

