Walmsley
|
|
|
|
WALMSLEY, a chapelry in Bolton-le-Moors parish, Lancashire; near Bromley-Cross r. station, 3 miles N of Bolton. It was constituted in 1844; and its Post town is Bolton. Pop. in 1861, 3,415. Houses, 641. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £145. Patron, the Vicar of Bolton. The church was built in 1844. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Unitarians, and a slightly endowed school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.Cemeteries
- Christ Church, Blackburn Road, Egerton, Church of England
- Christ Church, Cox Green Road, Church of England
- Blackburn Road, Unitarian
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Walmsley.Church History
Church Records
- Christ Church, Blackburn Road, Egerton, Church of England
- Christ Church, Cox Green Road, Church of England
- Blackburn Road, Unitarian
- Water Street, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Walmsley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Walmsley area is Bolton.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Walmsley which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Walmsley to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Walmsley was located in the township of Turton in the parish of Bolton.History
A description of Walmsley in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Walmesley and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD704155 (Lat/Lon: 53.635173, -2.449139), Walmsley which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Walmsley was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

