Walney

Select map to view larger area
WALNEY, an island and a chapelry in Dalton-in-Furness parish, Lancashire. The island is separated from Lower Furness by a narrow strait; adjoins, in its central part, the harbour and town of Barrow-in-Furness; extends south-south-eastward, from the month of the Duddon's estuary to the N side of the entrance of Morecambe bay; measures 8 miles in length, and nowhere more than 1 mile in breadth; is low, flat, and distributed into about a dozen farms; contains two small villages; is surmounted, at the S end, by a lighthouse 68 feet high, erected in 1790; and has a post-office under Barrow-in-Furness. The chapelry includes one or two neighbouring islets; and its statistics are returned with the parish. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, 140. Patron, the Vicar of Dalton. The church is recent. There is a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Walney.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Walney area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Walney area is Barrow in Furness.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Walney which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Walney to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Walney was a chapelry in the parish of Dalton in Furness.

Maps

View maps of Walney and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD184664 (Lat/Lon: 54.087024, -3.248978), Walney which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Walney was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.