Walton-le-Dale
|
|
|
|
WALTON-LE-DALE, a village, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Blackburn parish and Preston district, Lancashire. The village stands on the river Ribble, 2 miles SE of Preston r. station; and has a post-office under Preston. The township includes Bamber-Bridge and Higher Walton villages and three hamlets; and comprises 4,630 acres. Real property, £22,358; of which £72 are in fisheries. Pop. in 1851, 6,855; in 1861, 7,383. Houses, 1,387. The property is much subdivided. W. Lodge, W. Hall, Darwen Bank, Darwen Cottage, Cooper Hill, Prospect Hill, Lostock Hall, and Highwood are chief residences. There are five cotton-mils, a print-work, an iron-foundry, and a corn mill; and market gardening is considerable. The chapelry formerly included all the township, but now excludes Bamber-Bridge and Higher Walton. Pop., 3,283. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £300. Patron, the Vicar of Blackburn. The church was rebuilt about 1350, and partially restored in 1794, 1816, and 1861. There are a Roman Catholic chapel, a national school, and charities £78. The sub-district contains three townships. Acres, 9,400. Pop., 8,654. Houses, 1,634.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Preston library.Cemeteries
- All Saints, Blackburn Road, Church of England, Higher Walton
- St Leonard, Church Brow, Church of England
- Our Lady of Lourdes and St Gerard Majella, Brownedge Road, Roman Catholic, Lostock Hall
- Our Lady and St Patrick, Higher Walton Road, Roman Catholic
- Church Brow, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Walton le Dale.Church History
Church Records
- All Saints, Blackburn Road, Church of England, Higher Walton
- St James, Moss Lane, Church of England, Lostock Hall
- St Leonard, Church Brow, Church of England
- Our Lady of Lourdes and St Gerard Majella, Brownedge Road, Roman Catholic, Lostock Hall
- Our Lady and St Patrick, Higher Walton Road, Roman Catholic
- Watkin Lane, United Methodist, Lostock Hall
- Gregson Lane, United Methodist Free Church, Gregson Lane
- Blackburn Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Higher Walton
- Church Brow, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Walton-le-Dale area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Walton-le-Dale area is Preston and South Ribble.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Walton-le-Dale which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Walton-le-Dale to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Walton-le-Dale was a chapelry and township in the parish of Blackburn.Maps
View maps of Walton-le-Dale and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD570270 (Lat/Lon: 53.737600, -2.653381), Walton-le-Dale which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Walton-le-Dale was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

