Walton on the Hill

Select map to view larger area
WALTON-ON-THE-HILL, a village and a township in West Derby district, and a parish partly also in Ormskirk district, Lancashire. The village stands near the Liverpool and Ormskirk railway, 3 miles N of Liverpool; and has a post-office under Liverpool, and a r. station. The township comprises 1,886 acres. Real property, 20,570; of which 100 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 2,469; in 1861, 3,598, of whom 679 were in Liverpool borough jail. Houses, 527. Villas are numerous, and in great variety. The Liverpool jail was erected between 1851 and 1861, and has capacity for 627 male and 429 female prisoners. A workhouse, on a site of 22 acres, was erected in 1864, at a cost of 33,000. A cemetery at Anfield comprises nearly 120 acres. The parish contains also Everton, Kirkdale, Bootle-cum-Linacre, Fazakerley, Kirkby, Simonswood, and Formby townships; includes considerable part of Liverpool borough; and is ecclesiastically divided into 36 sections, one of which is Walton-Breck in W. township, and the others of which are noticed in our articles on the other townships and on Edgehill and Liverpool. Acres, 29,233; of which 9,600 are water. Pop. in 1851, 46,302; in 1861, 85,058. Houses, 14,113. The head living, or St. Mary's, is a rectory and a vicarage, and the living of W.-Breck or Trinity is a p. curacy, in the diocese of Chester. Value of St. M., 1,300;* of T., 230. Patron of St. M., J. S. Leigh, Esq.; of T., J. Stock, Esq. St. Mary's church is Tudor; and that of Trinity is recent. There are several dissenting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, an endowed school with 47 a year, three national schools, and charities 309.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Liverpool library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Walton on the Hill.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Walton-on-the-Hill area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Walton on the Hill area is Liverpool.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Walton-on-the-Hill which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Walton on the Hill to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Walton on the Hill contained the townships of Walton on the Hill, Formby, Everton, Bootle and Linacre, Kirkdale, Fazakerley, Kirkby, and West Derby.

Maps

View maps of Walton-on-the-Hill and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ366944 (Lat/Lon: 53.442532, -2.955978), Walton-on-the-Hill which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Walton on the Hill was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.