Wuerdle and Wardle

Select map to view larger area
WARDLE, a chapelry, with a village, in Rochdale parish, Lancashire; 2¾ miles NNE of Rochdale r. station. It was constituted in 1859; and it has a post-office under Rochdale. Pop., 2,176. Houses, 439. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 200. Patron, the Vicar of Smallbridge. The church is modern and cruciform, and has a tower and spire. There are two dissenting chapels and a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Rochdale library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Wuerdle and Wardle.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Wardle area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Wardle area is Rochdale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Wardle which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Wardle to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Wuerdle and Wardle was a township in the parish of Rochdale.

History

A description of Wardle in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Wardle and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD912168 (Lat/Lon: 53.647624, -2.134606), Wardle which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Wardle was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.