Wardleworth

Select map to view larger area
WARDLEWORTH, a township in Rochdale parish, Lancashire; including large part of Rochdale borough. Real property, 61,924; of which 1,060 are in mines, and 559 in gasworks. Pop. in 1851, 14,103; in 1861, 17,840. Houses, 3,534. Pop. of the R. borough part in 1861, 16,531. Houses, 3,272. See Hundersfield.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Rochdale library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Wardleworth.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Wardleworth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Wardleworth area is Rochdale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Wardleworth which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Wardleworth to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Wardleworth was a township in the parish of Rochdale.

History

A description of Wardleworth in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Wardleworth and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD896136 (Lat/Lon: 53.618832, -2.158703), Wardleworth which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Wardleworth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.