Warton
|
|
|
|
WARTON, a township and a chapelry in Kirkham parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the river Ribble's estuary, 3 miles SW of Kirkham r. station; contains a scattered village of its own name; and has a postal wall-box, under Preston. Acres, 3,939; of which 2,405 are water. Real property, £2,960. Pop., 446. Houses, 91. The chapelry includes also Freckleton township, and comprises 6,598 acres. Pop., 1,325. Houses, 279. The property is much subdivided. Cotton spinning and the manufacture of sacking, sail-cloth, and cordage, are carried on. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £350.* Patron, Christchurch, Oxford. There are two churches, both good. There are also two Methodist chapels and a national school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Kirkham and St Annes libraries.Cemeteries
- St Paul (formerly Holy Trinity), Church Road, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Warton.Church History
Church Records
- St Paul (formerly Holy Trinity), Church Road, Church of England
- Holy Family, Lytham Road, Roman Catholic
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Warton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Warton area is Blackpool & Fylde.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Warton which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Warton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Warton was a township in the parish of Kirkham.Maps
View maps of Warton and places within its boundaries.A modern map showing Warton in relation to other places in the Fylde.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD412287 (Lat/Lon: 53.751333, -2.893212), Warton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Warton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

