Wavertree
|
|
|
|
WAVERTREE, a village, a township, two chapelries, and a sub-district, in Childwall parish and West Derby district, Lancashire. The village stands 1½ mile SE of Edgehill r. station, and 3 ESE of Liverpool; has been much improved under a local board of health; is a place of resort for invalids; and has a post-office under Liverpool, a police station, public baths, and a reading room. The township comprises 1,796 acres. Real property, £36,743; of which £66 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 4,011; in 1861, 5,392. Houses, 910. The manor belongs to the Marquis of Salisbury. There are numerous good residences, two churches, a free church of 1869, two dissenting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, two national schools, two large breweries, and an extensive ropery. The two chapelries are Holy Trinity and St. Mary; and the former is a p. curacy, the latter a rectory, in the diocese of Chester. Value of each, £300. Patron of the former, the Vicar of Childwall; of the latter, the Bishop of Chester. The sub-district contains 4 townships. Acres, 7,448. Pop. in 1851, 7,415; in 1861, 10,845. Houses, 1,792.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Liverpool library.Cemeteries
- St Matthew and St James, Mossley Hill Road/Rose Lane, Church of England, Mossley Hill
- Holy Trinity, Church Road, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Wavertree.Church History
Church Records
- Dovedale, Dovedale Road, Baptist
- St Barnabas, Penny Lane, Church of England, Mossley Hill
- St Matthew and St James, Mossley Hill Road/Rose Lane, Church of England, Mossley Hill
- Holy Trinity, Church Road, Church of England
- St Bridget, Bagot St, Church of England
- St Mary, Olive Vale, Church of England
- St Mary, Sandown Park, Church of England
- St Thomas, Ashfield, Church of England
- Wellington Rd, City Mission
- Hunter's Lane, Congregational
- Woolton Road, Presbyterian
- Memorial Church, Lawrence Rd, Protestant Martyrs
- St Anthony of Padua, Queen's Drive, Roman Catholic, Mossley Hill
- Christ the King, Queens Drive, Roman Catholic
- Christ the King, Queens Drive, Roman Catholic
- Our Lady of Good Help, Chestnut Grove, Roman Catholic
- Our Lady of the Annunciation, Woolton Road, Roman Catholic
- St Hugh of Lincoln, Earle Rd, Roman Catholic
- St Paschal Baylon, St Paschal Baylon Blvd, Roman Catholic
- Earlsfield Rd, Welsh Baptist
- Bethel, Highfield Rd, Welsh Presbyterian
- Elm Hall Drive, Wesleyan Methodist
- Wellington Ave, Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesley, Victoria Park (Olive Vale), Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Wavertree area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Wavertree area is Liverpool.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Wavertree which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Wavertree to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Wavertree was a township in the parish of Childwall.History
Maps
View maps of Wavertree and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ385892 (Lat/Lon: 53.396023, -2.926360), Wavertree which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Wavertree was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

