Weeton with Preese

Select map to view larger area
WEETON, a township and a chapelry in Kirkham parish, Lancashire. The township lies adjacent to the Preston and Wyre railway, 3½ miles NW by W of Kirkham; bears the name of W.-with-Preese; and has a fair on Trinity Tuesday. Acres, 2,876. Real property, 3,978. Pop., 465. The manor belongs to the Earl of Derby. The chapelry was constituted in 1843; and its Post town is Kirkham, under Preston. Pop., 1,017. Houses, 194. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 110 Patron, the Vicar of Kirkham. The church was built in 1846. There is a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Kirkham and St Annes libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Weeton with Preese.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Weeton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Weeton area is Blackpool & Fylde.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Weeton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Weeton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Weeton with Preese was a township in the parish of Kirkham.

Maps

View maps of Weeton and places within its boundaries.

A modern map showing Weeton in relation to other places in the Fylde.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD383347 (Lat/Lon: 53.804919, -2.938387), Weeton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Weeton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.