Wennington

Select map to view larger area
WENNINGTON, a township in Melling parish, Lancashire; on the Lancaster and Settle railway, at the junction of the new line to Furness, 6 miles S by E of Kirkby-Lonsdale. It has a r station with telegraph. Acres, 830. Real property, 1,300. Pop., 180. Houses, 33. W. Hall is the seat of W. A. F. Saunders, Esq.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Wennington.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Wennington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Wennington area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Wennington which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Wennington to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Wennington was a township in the parish of Melling.

Maps

View maps of Wennington and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD616700 (Lat/Lon: 54.124421, -2.589065), Wennington which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Wennington was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.