West Derby
|
|
|
|
DERBY (West), a village, a parish, a sub-district, a district, and a hundred in Lancashire. The village stands 2 miles N by W of Broad-Green r. station, and 4 ENE of Liverpool post office; has a post office under Liverpool; and had a castle before the Conquest. The parish includes also Kensington, Stanley, Knotty-Ash, and other hamlets, and part of the borough and suburbs of Liverpool; contains a botanic garden, a zoological garden, a lunatic asylum, and a large industrial school; and was only a chapelry of Walton-on-the-Hill till 1847. Acres, 6,123. Rated property, £232,783. Pop. in 1841, 16,864; in 1861, 52,694. Houses, 9,239. Pop. of the portion within Liverpool borough, in 1841. 9,760: in 1861, 36,527. Houses, 6,378. The property is much subdivided. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Chester. Value, £1,300. Patron, the Rev. J. Stewart. The vicarages of Fairfield and St. Catherine, and the p. curacies of Stanley, Knotty-Ash, St. James, St. Jude, St. Stephen, and St. Mary are separate benefices. Value of St. Catherine, £230; of St. Ann, £78; of St. Jude and St. Mary, each £300; of St. Stephen, £300; of the others, not reported. Patrons of Fairfield, the Bushby family; of St. Catherine, St. John, St. Jude, and St. Stephen, Trustees; of Stanley, the Rev. T. Garner; of St. James, Mrs. Reade; of St. Mary, J. Stewart, Esq. more ...John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Liverpool library.Cemeteries
- Lower House Lane, Cemetery
- St Mary the Virgin, Almond's Green, Church of England
- Deane Rd, Jewish Cemetery, Fairfield
- Lower House Lane, Jewish Cemetery
- St Swithin, Gillmoss Lane, Roman Catholic, Gillmoss
- St Oswald, King & Martyr, St Oswald's St, Roman Catholic, Old Swan
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for West Derby.Church History
Church Records
- Cottenham St, Baptist, Kensington
- Jubilee Drive, Baptist, Kensington
- Parthenon Drive, Baptist, Norris Green
- New Rd, Baptist, Tuebrook
- St Andrew, Queen's Drive, Church of England, Clubmoor
- Holy Spirit, Dovecot Avenue, Church of England, Dovecot
- Christ Church, Kensington, Church of England, Edge Hill
- St John the Divine, Holly Rd, Church of England, Fairfield
- St Philip, Sheil Rd, Church of England, Fairfield
- Christ Church, Sedgemoor Rd, Church of England, Norris Green
- St Christopher, Broad Lane, Church of England, Norris Green
- All Saints, Broadgreen Rd, Old Swan, Church of England, Stoneycroft
- St Paul, Derby Lane, Church of England, Stoneycroft
- St John the Baptist, West Derby Rd, Church of England, Tuebrook
- St David, Princess Drive (formerly King's Drive), Church of England
- St James, Mill Lane, Church of England
- St Luke, Princess Drive, Church of England
- St Mary the Virgin, Almond's Green, Church of England
- The Good Shepherd, Carr Lane, Church of England
- Liverpool City Mission, Jubilee Drive, City Mission, Kensington
- Coleridge St, Elim, Kensington
- Jubilee Drive, Elim, Kensington
- East Prescot Road, Evangelical, Dovecot
- Mill Lane, Evangelical
- Millbank, Latter Day Saints, Tuebrook
- New Rd, Liverpool City Mission, Tuebrook
- Townsend Lane, Presbyterian, Clubmoor
- Beech Street, Presbyterian, Fairfield
- Green Lane, Presbyterian, Stoneycroft
- Rankin Memorial, Broad Lane, Presbyterian
- Jubilee Drive, Primitive Methodist, Kensington
- Primitive Methodist, Tuebrook
- St Sebastian, Lockerby Rd, Roman Catholic, Fairfield
- St Swithin, Gillmoss Lane, Roman Catholic, Gillmoss
- St Oswald, King & Martyr, St Oswald's St, Roman Catholic, Old Swan
- St Cecilia, Green Lane, Roman Catholic, Stoneycroft
- St Matthew, Queens Drive, Roman Catholic
- St Paul, Town Row, Roman Catholic
- St Teresa of the Child Jesus, Utting Avenue East, Roman Catholic
- Coleridge St, Salvation Army, Kensington
- Kensington, Seventh Day Adventist, Kensington
- Kensington, Welsh Congregational, Kensington
- Laurel St, Wesleyan Methodist, Fairfield
- St Paul, Greenfield Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Stoneycroft
- Wesleyan Methodist, Tuebrook
- Crosby Green, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the West Derby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the West Derby area is Liverpool.In registration districts for BMDs and censuses, the name Liverpool is applicable only to an area bounded by the river Mersey, Boundary Road, Great Homer St. and Upper Parliament street. All the rest of Liverpool is West Derby which is the name of the ancient Hundred ,An area which covered most of SW Lancs. It is also the name of a "village" now a suburb of Liverpool.
As the population grew parishes were split into smaller units. The same happened with registration districts so that Toxteth Park etc were split from West Derby.
The West Derby Union was established in 1837 for civil registration. Not included in the West Derby Union was Liverpool to the west, and Prescot to the east.
Forming that union were the following villages or townships.West Derby; Bootle; Everton; Fazakerley; Kirkby; Kirkdale; Walton on the Hill; Aintree; Great Crosby; Little Crosby; Inch Blundell; Litherland; Lunt; Netherland; Orrell and Ford; Sephton; Thornton; Toxteth Park; Childwall; Allerton; Garston; Wavertree; and Croxteth Park.
Description and Travel
You can see pictures of West Derby which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from West Derby to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 West Derby was a township in the parish of Walton on the Hill.History
West Derby was one of the eight hundreds of Lancashire, fifteen townships came under its durisdiction and its boundaries reached as far west as Moss St, Islington. Over the centuries it was in turn inhabited by the Danes, Anglo-Saxons, and until 13thC. stood in a forest 11 miles long/2 miles wide. It has had a Saxon fort, a Norman Fort and now a small walled garden marks the site. King John transferred the Wapentake court from West Derby, when he granted the Charter to L,pool in 1207. (the forerunner of the County Court today). Ecclesiastically West Derby was part of Walton Parish for many years, but became independent in 1848. The present parish church built 1853/4 (designed by Gilbert G Scott, replaced the ancient chapel of St Mary the Virgin.Maps
View maps of West Derby and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ395928 (Lat/Lon: 53.428494, -2.912015), West Derby which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor Law
The Workhouse site has an interesting description of West Derby workhouse.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, West Derby was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

