West Leigh
|
|
|
|
Westleigh.-- township and ry. sta., Leigh par., SW. Lancashire, in town of Leigh, 1883 ac., pop. 7848; P.O. See LEIGH.John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Wigan library.Cemeteries
- St Paul, Westleigh Lane, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for West Leigh.Church History
Church Records
- Smallbrook Lane, Baptist, Dangerous Corner
- St Paul, Westleigh Lane, Church of England
- St Peter, Firs Lane, Church of England
- Our Lady of the Rosary, Common Lane, Roman Catholic
- The Twelve Apostles, Nel Pan Lane, Roman Catholic
- Trinity, Westleigh Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Westleigh area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the West Leigh area is Wigan and Leigh.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Westleigh which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from West Leigh to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 West Leigh was a township in the parish of Leigh.Maps
View maps of Westleigh and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD648013 (Lat/Lon: 53.507194, -2.532222), Westleigh which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, West Leigh was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

