Westby with Plumpton

Select map to view larger area
WESTBY-WITH-PLUMPTON, a township in Kirkham parish, Lancashire; 3 miles W of Kirkham. Acres, 3,426. Real property, 5,800. Pop., 601. Houses, 110. The manor belongs to Col. J. T. Clifton. There is a Roman Catholic chapel.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Kirkham library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Westby with Plumpton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Westby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Westby with Plumpton area is Blackpool & Fylde.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Westby which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Westby with Plumpton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Westby with Plumpton was a township in the parish of Kirkham.

Maps

View maps of Westby and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD383318 (Lat/Lon: 53.778857, -2.937806), Westby which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Westby with Plumpton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.