Westhoughton
|
|
|
|
HOUGHTON (WEST), a village, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district in Deane parish, Bolton district, Lancashire. The village stands near the Bolton and Wigan railway, 5 miles SW by W of Bolton; and has a station with telegraph on the railway, a post office under Bolton, a police station, and fairs on 27 Feb. and 12 Oct. The township comprises 4,460 acres. Real property, £16,679; of which £2,790 are in mines. Pop. in 1851, 4,547; in 1861, 5,156. Houses, 1,064. The land belongs chiefly to five. There are collieries, two silk factories, cotton mills, and a nail manufactory. The chapelry is less extensive than the township, and was constituted in 1860. Pop., 3,879. Houses, 806. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £170. Patron, the Vicar of Deane. The church was rebuilt in 1731; and re-rebuilt, at a cost of £5,500, in 1869-70. There are chapels for Independents, Quakers, and Methodists, and a national school. The sub-district is conterminate with the township.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.Cemeteries
- Cemetery St, Cemetery
- St James, St James Street, Church of England, Daisy Hill
- St Bartholomew, School Street, Church of England
- St John the Evangelist, Chorley Road, Church of England, Wingates
- Bethel, Park Rd, Independent
- Wigan Rd, Society of Friends
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Westhoughton.Church History
Church Records
- St James, St James Street, Church of England, Daisy Hill
- St Bartholomew, School Street, Church of England
- St John the Evangelist, Chorley Road, Church of England, Wingates
- King Street, Evangelical Church
- Wigan Rd, Gospel Hall
- Bethel, Park Rd, Independent
- Dicconson Lane, Independent Methodist
- Dixon St, Independent Methodist, Wingates
- Bolton Rd, Pentecostal
- Hindley Road, Primitive Methodist
- Wigan Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Sacred Heart of Jesus, Lord Street, Roman Catholic
- Wigan Rd, Society of Friends
- Trinity, Church St, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Westhoughton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Westhoughton area is Bolton.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Westhoughton which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Westhoughton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Westhoughton was a township in the parish of Deane.History
A description of Westhoughton in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Westhoughton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD652059 (Lat/Lon: 53.548566, -2.526704), Westhoughton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Westhoughton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

