Wheatley Carr

Select map to view larger area
WHEATLEY-CARR, an extra-parochial tract in Burnley district, Lancashire; 3¼ miles WSW of Colne. Acres, 200. Pop., 46. Houses, 9.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Wheatley Carr.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Wheatley Carr area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Wheatley Carr area is Burnley and Pendle.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Wheatley Carr which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Wheatley Carr to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Wheatley Carr was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Maps

View maps of Wheatley Carr and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD845378 (Lat/Lon: 53.836219, -2.237023), Wheatley Carr which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Wheatley Carr was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.