Wheelton

Select map to view larger area
WHEELTON, a township in Leyland parish, Lancashire; 3 miles NE of Chorley. Acres, 1,669. Real property, 4,309; of which 176 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 1,041; in 1861, 1,360. Houses, 233. The increase of pop. arose from the erection of cotton-mills. Brinscall Hall is the seat of W.Wood, Esq. There is a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Chorley and Ormskirk libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Wheelton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Wheelton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Wheelton area is Chorley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Wheelton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Wheelton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Wheelton was a township in the parish of Leyland.

Maps

View maps of Wheelton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD603211 (Lat/Lon: 53.684834, -2.602596), Wheelton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Wheelton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.