Whiston
|
|
|
|
WHISTON, a township in Prescot parish, Lancashire; on the Liverpool and Manchester railway, 1 mile S of Prescot. It has a post-office under Prescot; and it contains Prescot workhouse. Acres, 1,793. Real property, £10,867; of which £4,381 are in mines, and £135 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 1,825; in 1861, 1,727, of whom 155 were in the workhouse. Houses, 318. A church was built here in 1865, at a cost of about £6,000; and is in the early English style, with tower and spire, 150 feet high. There are also a Methodist chapel and a national school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
- St Nicholas, Windy Arbor Road, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Whiston.Church History
Church Records
- St Nicholas, Windy Arbor Road, Church of England
- Dragon Lane, Free Methodist
- Dragon Drive, Methodist
- St Leo, Lickers Lane, Roman Catholic
- St Luke, Shaw Lane, Roman Catholic
- Capel Siloh, Brook St, Welsh Methodist
- Windy Arbor Road, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Whiston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Whiston area is Knowsley.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Whiston which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Whiston to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Whiston was a township in the parish of Prescot.History
Some information about the history of Whiston.Maps
View maps of Whiston and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ475914 (Lat/Lon: 53.416769, -2.791393), Whiston which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Whiston was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

