Whitechapel

Select map to view larger area
WHITECHAPEL, a chapelry in Kirkham parish, Lancashire; 5 miles SSE of Garstang r. station. It was constituted in 1846; and its Post town is Preston. Pop., 646. Houses, 129. The property is much subdivided. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 156. Patron, Christchurch, Oxford. The church is tolerable.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Whitechapel.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Whitechapel area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Whitechapel area is Preston & South Ribble.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Whitechapel which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Whitechapel to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Whitechapel was a chapelry in the township of Goosnargh in the parish of Kirkham.

Maps

View maps of Whitechapel and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD558413 (Lat/Lon: 53.866021, -2.673629), Whitechapel which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Whitechapel was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.