Whittingham

Select map to view larger area
WHITTINGHAM, a township in Kirkham parish, Lancashire; 5 miles NNE of Preston. Acres, 4,322. Real property, £4,741. Pop., 583. Houses, 195. W. House is the seat of J. L. Harrison, Esq.; and Gleadale House, of H. B. Jones, Esq. There is a Wesleyan chapel.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Preston library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Whittingham.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Whittingham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Whittingham area is Preston and South Ribble

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Whittingham which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Whittingham to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Whittingham was a township in the parish of Kirkham.

Maps

View maps of Whittingham and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD565348 (Lat/Lon: 53.807661, -2.662063), Whittingham which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Whittingham was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.