Whittle le Woods

Select map to view larger area
WHITTLE-LE-WOODS, a village, a township, and a chapelry, in Leyland parish, Lancashire. The village stands 2 miles E by S of Leyland r. station, and 6 SSE of Preston; is a scattered place; and has a postal pillar-box under Preston, and a large brewery. The township comprises 1,357 acres. Real property, 6,576; of which 80 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 2,310; in 1861, 2,151. Houses, 443. The decrease of pop. was caused by the stoppage of a manufactory. The property is sub-divided. Shaw Hall is the seat of T. B. Crosse, Esq. Medicinal springs were discovered in 1845; they arise from coal-borings, at a depth of 265 feet; they are much frequented by invalids and pleasure parties; and they gave rise to the erection of baths, a public hall, and a spacious hotel. The chapelry was constituted in 1830. Pop., 2,856. Houses, 587. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 150.* Patron, the Vicar of Leyland. The church was built in 1823.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Chorley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Whittle le Woods.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Whittle-le-Woods area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Whittle le Woods area is Chorley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Whittle-le-Woods which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Whittle le Woods to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Whittle le Woods was a township in the parish of Leyland.

Maps

View maps of Whittle-le-Woods and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD579214 (Lat/Lon: 53.687342, -2.638974), Whittle-le-Woods which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Whittle le Woods was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.