Whitworth

Select map to view larger area
WHITWORTH, a village, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Rochdale parish and district, Lancashire. The village stands 3¼ miles N by W of Rochdale r. station, and has a post-office under Rochdale. The chapelry was formerly more extensive than now. Rated property, 15,786. Recent pop., 4,324. The property is much subdivided. W. House was formerly the residence of the "Whitworth doctors;" and is now the residence of J. E. Taylor, Esq. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 300. Patrons, Trustees. The church was rebuilt in 1775; and is cruciform, with a steeple. There is an endowed school with 14 a year. The sub-district comprises the Whitworth and Brandwood sections of Spotland township. Real property, 51,695; of which 9,465 are in mines, 2,045 in quarries, and 93 in gasworks. Pop. in 1851, 9,215; in 1861, 14,006. Houses, 2,717.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Whitworth Library,
Lloyd Street,
Whitworth
OL12 8AA

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Whitworth.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Whitworth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Whitworth area is Hyndburn and Rossendale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Whitworth which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Whitworth to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Whitworth was a chapelry in the township of Spotland in the parish of Rochdale.

History

A description of Whitworth in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Whitworth and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD885177 (Lat/Lon: 53.655661, -2.175486), Whitworth which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Whitworth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

The Whitworth Historical Society provide information about the Whitworth Museum, and the history of Whitworth.

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.