Winstanley

Select map to view larger area
WINSTANLEY, a township in Wigan parish, Lancashire; 3¼ miles SW by W of Wigan. Acres, 1,853. Real property, £6,913; of which £3,600 are in mines. Pop., 633. Houses, 123. The manor, with W. Hall, belongs to M. Bankes, Esq.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Wigan library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Winstanley.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Winstanley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Winstanley area is Wigan and Leigh.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Winstanley to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Winstanley was a township in the parish of Wigan.

Maps

View maps of Winstanley and places within its boundaries.

Poor Houses, Poor law etc.

Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Winstanley was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.