Winwick with Hulme

Select map to view larger area
WINWICK, a township, a parish, and a sub-district, in Warrington district, Lancashire. The township lies 2 miles S by E of Newton r. station, and 2½ N of Warrington; bears the name of W.-with-Hulme; and has a post-office under Newton-le-Willows. Acres, 1,431. Real property, 3,579. Pop., 451. Houses, 87. The parish includes Houghton, Middleton, and Arbury township; and comprises 2,270 acres. Pop., 704. Houses, 132. The property is much subdivided. W. Hall is the seat of the Rev. F. G. Hopwood. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Chester. Value, not reported. Patron, the Earl of Derby. The church is chiefly ancient; was partly rebuilt in 1848, and extensively improved in 1858; and has a tower, with octagonal spire. There is an endowed grammar-school with 34 a year. The sub-district includes Croft-with-Southworth parish.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Warrington library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Winwick with Hulme.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Winwick area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Winwick area is Warrington.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Winwick which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Winwick to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Winwick contained the townships of Winwick with Hulme, Houghton, Middleton and Arbury, Southworth with Croft, Culcheth, Newton in Makerfield, Haydock, Ashton in Makerfield, Golborne, Lowton and Kenyon.

Maps

View maps of Winwick and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ604928 (Lat/Lon: 53.430481, -2.597488), Winwick which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Winwick was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.