Withnell

Select map to view larger area
WITHNELL, a township and a chapelry in Leyland parish, Lancashire. The township lies 2¾ miles SSW of Pleasington r. station, and 5 SW of Blackburn; includes Brinscall and Abbey-Mill villages, and two hamlets; and has a post-office under Chorley. Acres, 3,557. Real property, 6,819; of which 100 are in quarries. Pop., 2,059. Houses, 365. The manor belongs to J. Park, Esq. Ollerton Hall is the seat of W. P. Park, Esq.; and W. Fold, of T. B. Park, Esq. There are cotton mills, calico-printing-works, bleaching mills, a paper mill, and mineral springs. The chapelry was constituted in 1842. Pop., 2,160. Houses, 383. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 141. Patron, the Vicar of Leyland. There are two Wesleyan chapels, two national schools, and charities 5.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Chorley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Withnell.

Church History

Hillside Methodist church, Brinscall.

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Withnell area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Withnell area is Chorley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Withnell which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Withnell to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Withnell was a township in the parish of Leyland.

Maps

View maps of Withnell and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD632222 (Lat/Lon: 53.694934, -2.558820), Withnell which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Withnell was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.