Woodland

Select map to view larger area
Woodland, eccl. dist. and ry. sta., Kirkby Ireleth par., N. Lancashire, 3½ miles NE. of Broughton-in-Furness, pop. 87.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Woodland.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Woodland area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Woodland area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Woodland which are provided by:

Directories

Residents in 1882 found in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Woodland to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Woodland was a chapelry in the township of Broughton in Furness in the parish of Kirkby Ireleth.

History

The history of Heathwaite and Woodland as described in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel, 1882.

Maps

View maps of Woodland and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD247890 (Lat/Lon: 54.291063, -3.158352), Woodland which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Woodland was in the peculiar of the Dean of the Chapter of York whose records are deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.