Hide
Woodland
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
Woodland, eccl. dist. and ry. sta., Kirkby Ireleth par., N. Lancashire, 3½ miles NE. of Broughton-in-Furness, pop. 87.
John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Hide
Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Woodland.
The Register Office covering the Woodland area is Ulverston.
Residents in 1882 found in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"WOODLAND, a chapelry in the parish of Kirkby Ireleth, hundred of Lonsdale North of the Sands, county Lancaster, 8 miles N.W. of Ulverston. It is situated near the river Dudden, and is joined with Heathwaite. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Chester,-value £70, in the patronage of the landowners. The chapel-of-ease was built in 1689, and repaired in 1822."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Woodland to another place.
In 1835 Woodland was a chapelry in the township of Broughton in Furness in the parish of Kirkby Ireleth.
The history of Heathwaite and Woodland as described in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel, 1882.
View maps of Woodland and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD246895 (Lat/Lon: 54.295538, -3.159567), Woodland which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Woodland was in the peculiar of the Dean of the Chapter of York whose records are deposited at the Borthwick Institute.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.