Woodplumpton
|
|
|
|
PLUMPTON-WOOD, a village and a parochialchapelry in St. Michael-on-Wyre parish, Lancashire. The village stands near the Lancaster and Prestoncanal, 1¼ mile S W of Barton r. station, and 4¼ N W by N of Preston. The chapelry also contains the hamlets of Catforth, Eaves, Higher Plumpton, and Lower Bartle; and its post town is Preston. Acres, 4,722. Real property, £9,516. Pop. in 1851, 1,574; in 1861, 1,462. Houses, 292. The property is subdivided. The manor belongs to Birley, Esq. P.-W. House, P.-W. Lodge, Swilbrook House, Barnfield House, Hollowforth, and Bartle Hall are chief residences. Extensive tile and drain-pipeworks are at Eaves and Catforth. The living is a p.curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £175.* Patron, the Vicar of St. Michael-on-Wyre. The church is ancient, and was modernised in 1852. There are a Wesleyan chapel, a Primitive Methodist chapel, a Roman Catholic chapel, an endowed school with £23 a year, a small workhouse, and charities £24.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Preston library.Cemeteries
- St Anne, Woodplumpton Rd, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Woodplumpton.Church History
Church Records
- St Anne, Woodplumpton Rd, Church of England
- Chapel Lane, Primitive Methodist, Catforth
- St Robert of Newminster, Benson Lane, Roman Catholic, Catforth
- Moorside Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Woodplumpton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Woodplumpton area is Preston.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Woodplumpton which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Woodplumpton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Woodplumpton was a township in the parish of St. Michaels on Wyre.Maps
View maps of Woodplumpton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD500346 (Lat/Lon: 53.805278, -2.760728), Woodplumpton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Woodplumpton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

