Woolston and Martincroft

Select map to view larger area
WOOLSTON-WITH-MARTINSCROFT, a township in Warrington parish, Lancashire; 2½ miles E by N of Warrington. Acres, 1,444. Real property, 2,950. Pop., 496. Houses, 97. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Roman Catholics.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Warrington library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Woolston and Martincroft.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Woolston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Woolston and Martincroft area is Warrington.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Woolston which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Woolston and Martincroft to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Woolston and Martincroft was a township in the parish of Warrington.

Maps

View maps of Woolston and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ643896 (Lat/Lon: 53.401998, -2.538429), Woolston which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Woolston and Martincroft was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.