Worsley
|
|
|
|
WORSLEY, a village, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Eccles parish, Barton-upon-Irwell district, Lancashire. The village stands on the Bridgewater canal, and on the Manchester, Tyldesley, and Wigan railway, 6½ miles WNW of Manchester; and has a post-office under Manchester, a r. station, a modern court-house for petty sessions, a literary institution, and nine schools. The township includes four other villages or hamlets; contains W., Ellenbrook, and Swinton chapelries; carries on cotton manufacture, iron-working, brick-making, and extensive coal mining; and has three churches, a school-church, several dissenting chapels, the Manchester industrial schools, a national school, and charities £16. Acres, 6,240. Real property, £36,315; of which £5,200 are in mines, £23 in iron-works, and £48 in gasworks. Pop. in 1851, 10,189; in 1861, 11,875. Houses, 2,232. The manor was known, at the Norman conquest, as Workedesly; belonged then to Elias de Workedesly; came to the Duke of Bridgewater; and , with W. Hall, belongs now to the Earl of Ellesmere. The Hall was built in 1840-6, after designs by Blore; is in a florid variety of the Tudor style; was visited, by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert in 1851, by the Queen again, in 1857, by the Prince of Wales, in 1869; and commands an extensive view. A memorial column to the first Earl of Ellesmere crowns an adjacent height. A splendid system of tunnel navigation, connected with the Bridgewater canal, commences in the village; had the effect, when completed, of reducing the cost of conveying coals and other heavy goods 100 per cent.; and possesses great interest to geologists, for examining the strata which it traverses. W. chapelry was made ecclesiastically parochial in 1863. Pop., about 2,300. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £250. Patron, the Earl of Ellesmere. The church is recent, and in the decorated English style; and has a lofty spire. There are three small dissenting chapels. The sub-district consists of W., and Clifton townships, and comprises 7,060 acres. Pop., 14,015. Houses, 2,597.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Salford library.Cemeteries
- New Manchester Woodland Cemetery, City Rd, Cemetery
- St Paul originally St George, Manchester Road, Church of England, Walkden Moor
- St Mark, Worsley Brow, Church of England
- St Mary, Wardley Hall Rd, Roman Catholic Cemetery, Wardley
- Manchester Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Walkden Moor
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Worsley.Church History
Church Records
- St Paul originally St George, Manchester Road, Church of England, Walkden Moor
- All Saints, Charles St, Church of England, Wardley
- St Mark, Worsley Brow, Church of England
- Bolton Rd, Congregational, Walkden Moor
- Roe Green, Independent Methodist
- Manchester Rd, Primitive Methodist, Walkden Moor
- Manchester Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Christ the King, Manchester Road, Roman Catholic, Walkden
- Wesley Hall, Hill Top, Wesleyan Methodist, Walkden
- Manchester Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Walkden Moor
- Barton Road, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Worsley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Worsley area is Salford.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Worsley to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Worsley was a township in the parish of Eccles.History
Some notes on the history of Worsley.A description of Worsley in the 19th century.

