Worsthorne with Hurstwood

Select map to view larger area
WORSTHORNE, a township and a chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire. The township lies 2 miles E of Burnley r. station, and bears the name of W.-with-Hurst-Wood. Acres, 2,800. Real property, 2,054; of which 235 are in quarries. Pop., 865. Houses, 169. The chapelry was constituted in 1842; and its Post town is Burnley. Pop., 1,015. Houses, 200. The property is subdivided. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 120. Patrons, Hulme's Trustees. The church is good.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Burnley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Worsthorne.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Worsthorne area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Worsthorne area is Burnley and Pendle.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Worsthorne which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Worsthorne to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Worsthorne with Hurstwood was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Maps

View maps of Worsthorne and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD875324 (Lat/Lon: 53.787764, -2.191215), Worsthorne which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Worsthorne was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.