Wray with Botton
|
|
|
|
WRAY, a village, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Lancaster district, Lancashire. The village stands 1 mile ESE of Hornby r. station, and 10 NE of Lancaster; and has a post-office under Lancaster, and cattle fairs on Shrove Tuesday and 30 April. The township includes Botton hamlet, and comprises 6,506 acres. Real property, £4,072; of which £40 are in mines. Pop., 797. Houses, 154. The property is subdivided. The chapelry was constituted in 1842; and is in Melling parish. Pop., 878. Houses, 168. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £60.* Patrons, Trustees. The church was built in 1840. There are two Methodist chapels, a free school, and a subscription library. The sub-district contains six townships of Melling parish, and all Tatham. Acres, 28,953. Pop., 2,270. Houses, 447.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.Cemeteries
- Holy Trinity, Main Street, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Wray.Church History
Church Records
- Holy Trinity, Main Street, Church of England
- Main Street, Free Methodist
- Hornby Rd, Society of Friends
- Hornby Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Wray area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Wray area is Lancaster.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Wray which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Wray to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Wray with Botton was a township in the parish of Melling.Maps
View maps of Wray and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD602675 (Lat/Lon: 54.101846, -2.610155), Wray which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Wray was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

