Wrightington
|
|
|
|
WRIGHTINGTON, a township-chapelry in Eccleston parish, Lancashire; at Appleby-Bridge r. station, and 4 miles NW of Wigan. It has a post-office under Wigan. Acres, 3,876. Real property, £7,423; of which £41 are in quarries. Pop., 1,618. Houses, 305. W. Hall is the seat of T. Dicconson, Esq.; and Harrock Hall, of Mrs. Bolton. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £128. Patron, the Rector of Eccleston. The church was built in 1857. There are Independent, Primitive Methodist, and Roman Catholic chapels.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Wigan library.Cemeteries
- All Saints, Finch Lane, Church of England, Appley Bridge
- St James the Great, Church Lane, Church of England
- Tunley Chapel, Chisnall Ave, Presbyterian
- St Joseph, Church Hall Lane, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Wrightington.Church History
Church Records
- All Saints, Finch Lane, Church of England, Appley Bridge
- St James the Great, Church Lane, Church of England
- Tunley Chapel, Chisnall Ave, Presbyterian
- Carr House Lane, Primitive Methodist
- St Joseph, Church Hall Lane, Roman Catholic
- Appley Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Wrightington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

