Yate with Pickup Bank

Select map to view larger area
YATE AND PICKUP-BANK, a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire; 4½ miles SSE of Blackburn. Acres, 1,360. Real property, 1,856. Pop., 1,111. Houses, 207. There are some small cotton-mills, a large reservoir, and a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Darwen library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Yate with Pickup Bank.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Pickup Bank area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Yate with Pickup Bank area is Blackburn.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Pickup Bank which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Yate with Pickup Bank to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Yate with Pickup Bank was a township in the parish of Blackburn.

Maps

View maps of Pickup Bank and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD724229 (Lat/Lon: 53.701794, -2.419552), Pickup Bank which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Yate with Pickup Bank was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.