Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Appleby

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.


Description in 1871:
"APPLEBY, a village and a parish in Ashby-de-la Zouch district, on the confines of Leicester and Derby. The village stands 1½ mile WSW of the Mease river and the Ashby-de-la-Zouch canal, and 6 miles SW by S of Ashby-de-la-Zouch r. station. It has a post office under Atherstone; and is a meet for the Atherstone hounds. It is sometimes called Appleby-Magna or Great Appleby; while a hamlet a little S of it, in the same parish, is called Appleby-Parva or Little Appleby. The parish comprises 2,020 acres. Real property, £7,067. Pop., 1,070. Houses, 248. The property is not much divided. Appleby Hall is the seat of G. Moore, Esq. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Peterborough. Value, £750. Patron, G. Moore, Esq. The church is a handsome structure with a spire; and has some good painted glass. There are three dissenting chapels and a free grammar school,-the latter founded in 1697, by Sir John Moore, lord mayor of London. Endowed income of the grammar school, £326; other charities £9."
[John Marius Wilson's "Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales," (1870-72)]



  • The Cemetery is across the street from the church and was consecrated in November, 1877.
  • The Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society have published details of Appleby burials (Ref: 865F) from 1813 - 1865.



  • The parish was in the Measham subdistrict of the Ashby-de-la-Zouch Registration District.
  • The 1851 census for Leicestershire has been indexed by the Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society. The whole index is available on microfiche. The society has also published it in print and Volume 7 covers the Measham subdistrict which includes the Leicestershire part of Appleby.
  • The Appleby Information Portal holds copies of census returns for 1841 - 1911.
  • Chris Bee also has the The 1939 Civilian Register on the portal.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 600
1851 H.O. 107 / 2084
1861 R.G. 9 / 2267
1871 R.G. 10 / 3243
1891 R.G. 12 / 2508


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Appleby area or see them printed on a map.


Church History

  • The Anglican parish church for Appleby is dedicated to Saint Michael and All Angels.
  • Tradition holds that the church was built on the site of a Roman temple.
  • The churchyard burial ground was expanded in by an acre in 1877.
  • The church seats 600.
  • Philip JEFFREY has a photograph of St. Michael and All Angels' Church on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2014.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1572 and is in fair condition.
  • The church was in the Akeley West rural deanery.
  • The General Baptists had a chapel built here in 1820.
  • The Particular Baptists had a chapel built here by 1849.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel built here by 1849.
  • The Society of Genealogists holds copies of baptisms (1572 - 1862), marriages (1573 - 1837) and burials (1572 - 1906) from Appleby Magna which can be studied at their library in London.
  • The Appleby Information Portal holds copies of parish registers (1572 - 1906).

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Measham subdistrict of the Ashby-de-la-Zouch Registration District.
  • Civil Registration started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Appleby is a village in two counties. Most of the village is in the Leicesteshire parish of Appleby, but some of the village spills over into Derbyshire. The parish is about 110 miles north of London, 8 miles north of Atherstone and 5 miles south-west of Ashby-de-la-Zouch. The parish covers 2,853 acres and includes the hamlet of Little Appleby just 1/2 mile south-west of the village.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the A42 south out of Ashby de la Zouch and turn left (east) into Appleby.

You can see pictures of Appleby which are provided by:





Ask for a calculation of the distance from Appleby to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.


Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Appleby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.



  • A 4th Century Romano-British farm has been excavated in the parish.
  • In the 1068 Domesday Book, the parish is listed as "Apleby" and as part of Derbyshire.
  • The Amenity Woodlands, just north of the village, is a small part of the national reforestation project.
      The web page author has been told that ist is locally known as Georgina’s Wood.
  • John POYSER has a photograph of the entrance to Amenity woodland on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2007.
  • Phillip JEFFREY has a photograph of the Appleby Inn on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2014.


  • Appleby Hall is a handsome structure about 3/4 of a mile outside the village. It was the seat of George John MOORE in 1912.

Military History

Inside the church there is a framed Roll of Honour for World War One and World War Two.

In the churchyard is a tall granite cross with names on plaque to base. Dedicated and unveiled Autumn 1920 by Colonel BYRON, Leicestershire Yeomanry Cavalry and Rev C. T. MOORE. The plaques cover both World Wars and the Cyprus intervention of 1956.

Military Records

The names listed on the War Memorial in the churchyard are:

Name Rank Unit Died Other info.
Jack ADAMS       No information provided
Thomas Marshall BEADMAN bombardier 221st. Btty, Royal Garrison Artillery 7 AUg. 1917 Age 35, husband of Emily Hannah BEADMAN
Herbert BEADMAN       No information provided
Ronald BOWMAN private Royal Leics. Regt. 23 Mar. 1956 Age 21
Percy William DIXON sapper Royal Engineers 14 Feb. 1916 Age 20, son of Thomas and Alice Lucy DIXON
Victor John DIXON     23 Mar. 1918 Age 23, son of Thomas and Alice Lucy DIXON
Ernest John HANCOCKS private 1/8 Btln., Royal Warwickshire Regt. 23 Oct. 1918 Age 19, son of William and Kate Elizabeth HANCOCKS
Charles HOBSON       No information provided
Thomas HOWES       No information provided
Hedley Wilkins JEWELL private 2/5 Leics. Regt. 18 Nov. 1916 Age 21, Probably the son of Daniel and Rosanna JEWELL
Thomas KENDALL sergeant 6th Btln., Leics. Regt. 27 Sept. 1916 Son of Mrs Ada KENDALL
Herbert John MORTIMER private 1st Btln., Royal Scots Fusillers 31 July 1917 Age 20, son of George and Elizabeth MORTIMER
William ROBERTS       No information provided
Thomas ROWLAND private 8th Btln., North Staff. Regt. 20 Sept. 1917 Age 21, son of George and Annie ROWLAND
William SALMON       No information provided
Wilfred SMITH       No information provided
Harry SPARE private 6th Btln., Leics. Regt. 1 May 1918 Age 29, son of Joseph and Jane SPARE
William SPENCER       No information provided
Sidney WINTER private 7th Btln., Leics. Regt. 22 Mar. 1918 Age 21, son of James and Mary L. WINTER

Politics and Government

  • Appleby was an ancient parish of Leicestershire and became a Civil Parish on 30 September, 1897 when the old parish boundaries, which intruded into Derbyshire, were redrawn. The whole parish was thereafter in Leicestershire.
  • On 1 April, 1965, the parish was reduced by 4 acres which were given to Newton Regis Civil Parish in Warwickshire.
  • The Leicestershire portion of the parish was in the ancient Sparkenhoe Hundred in the western division of the county.
  • The Derbyshire portion of the parish was in the ancient Repten and Gresley Hundred.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Ashyb-de-la-Zouch petty session hearings.
  • The Common Land was enclosed here in 1771.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, Appleby became part of the Ashby-de-la-Zouch Poorlaw Union.
  • The Misses MOORES had almshouses built in 1839.


 Year Inhabitants
1841 1,075
1891 657
1901 649
1911 675
1921 752
1951 829


  • A Grammar school was founded at Appleby Magna by Sir John MOORE, Lord Mayor of London in 1697. The school was closed by 1912.
  • A Public Elementary School for boys occupied a portion of the Grammar School building.
  • A Public Elementary School for girls was built in 1845 for 120 children.