We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Blaby

Description in 1887:
"BLABY, par. and township with ry. sta., in co. and 4½ miles S. of Leicester, on Union canal -- par., 3300 ac., pop, 2406; township, pop. 1353; P.O."
[John Bartholomew's "Gazetteer of the British Isles," 1877]

Cemeteries

  • A cemetery of one acre was set aside in 1868 with two mortuary chapels. It was under the control of the parish council's burial board.

Census

  • The parish was in the Wigston sub-district of the Blaby Registration District.
  • The 1851 Census for Leicestershire has been indexed by the Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society. The whole index is available on microfiche. The society has also published it in print and Volume 10 covers Blaby.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2256
1871 R.G. 10 / 3230
1891 R.G. 12 / 2496 & 2497

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Blaby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Andrew.
  • The origin of the church is uncertain, but was earlier than 1561.
  • The church was completely restored and reseated in 1902.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1561.
  • The church is in the rural deanery of Guthlaxton (first portion).
  • The Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society have indexed Blaby baptisms from 1560 - 1920, burials from 1568 - 1911 and deaths from 1568 - 1911. These have been published on microfiche.
  • The Society of Genealogists holds copies of parish registers including baptisms from 1560 - 1921 and marriages from 1568 - 1837 which can be studied at their library in London.
  • The original records are held at the The Record Office for Leicestershire, Leicester & Rutland.
  • The Baptist chapel was built here in 1807.
  • The Congregationalists built a chapel here in 1855.
  • Andrew TATLOW has a photograph of the Congregational Church on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2006. The Chapel is on Park Road.
  • The Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built here before 1871.

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
  • The parish was in the Wigston sub-district of the Blaby Registration District.

Description and Travel

Blaby is a small town, a parish and a suburb in the conurbation now known as Leicester city. It used to be a separate village and parish about 4 miles south of Leicester and 101 miles north of London. The parish includes the chapelry of Countesthorpe and covered 3,300 acres in 1887. A branch of the River Soar passes just north of the village, as does the Union Canal.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the A426 motorway south out of Leicester city.
You can see pictures of Blaby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Blaby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • In the 1800s and early 1900s, most of the workers in the parish were frame-work knitters turning out stockings.
  • On Blaby District Council website, see "heritage" in the A to Z index for information on Blaby and nearby villages.

Manors

  • Blaby Hall is an ancient building, formerly the seat of the PEVERIL family, the VERNONs and the RUTLAND families.
  • The Hall was restored about 1850 and in 1881 was the residence of the Misses STONE.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SP566972 (Lat/Lon: 52.569659, -1.166336), Blaby which are provided by:

Military History

  • Mat FASCIONE has a photograph of the War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2007. The War Memorial is on Lutterworth Road.

Politics and Government

  • This place was both an ancient parish in Leicestershire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Guthlaxton Hundred in the southern division of the county.
  • In 1881 to 1891, this parish was reduced in size from 3,300 acres to 1,332 acres.
  • In April, 1935, this parish was reduced by 23 acres to enlarge Countesthorpe Civil Parish.
  • One year later, in April, 1936, this parish was reduced by 35 acres to enlarge Wigston Magna Civil Parish.
  • Blaby is now part of the Leicester Urban Area.
  • You can contact the local Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to assist you with family history research.
  • District governance is provided by the Blaby District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastrady cases would be heard in the Leicester petty session hearings.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, this parish became part of the Blaby Poorlaw Union.

Population

Year Inhabitants
1801 1,258
1841 1,896
1871 1,066
1881 1,303
1891 1,646
1901 1,842
1911 1,959
1921 2,012
1931 2,329
1951 2,991
1961 4,242

Schools

  • The Public Elementary School (National School) was built about 1845.

We are looking for somebody who can help with the maintenance of this page, which currently has a status of Care and maintenance - The section has a maintainer assigned who is correcting broken links, and staying in touch with the GENUKI system administrator and Trustees but is not active in updating the section's web pages. For more information about what helping us entails, look at our help wanted page. If you would like to consider helping us then please contact Lou Mills.