GENUKI Home page
Leicestershire Home Page LEICESTERSHIRE   Leicestershire Switch Page Contents   Leicestershire Towns & Parishes Leicestershire
Towns & Parishes
  Neighbours Nearby
places

Blaby

"Blaby, a considerable village, on the south side of the Union Canal and a tributary stream of the Soar, and on the Lutterworth road, gives its name to a township, parish and Poor Law union. It is in Leicester County Court District and Guthlaxton Hundred, and is situated 4 1/2 miles S. by W. of Leicester and 1 1/2 mile W. of Wigston Station on the Midland Railway. Its township in 1871, contained 1066 inhabitants , living in 253 houses , on about 1240 acres of land; but its parish, which includes Countesthorpe township, had at that date 2092 persons, living in 494 houses, on 3300 acres. The soil is light and sandy, and the surface generally "[White's History, Gazetteer and Directory of the Counties of Leicester and Rutland. 3rd Edition 1877]

Census

The 1851 Census for Leicestershire has been indexed by the Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society. The whole index is available on microfiche. The society has also published it in print and Volume 10 covers the Blaby Sub-District.

Church Records

The Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society have indexed Blaby baptisms from 1560 - 1920, burials from 1568 - 1911 and deaths from 1568 - 1911. These have been published on microfiche and are available from the society at £1.20 each.

The Society of Genealogists holds copies of parish registers including baptisms from 1560 - 1921 and marriages from 1568 - 1837 which can be studied at their library in London.

The original records are held at the The Record Office for Leicestershire, Leicester & Rutland.

History.

On Blaby District Council website, see "heritage" in the A to Z index for information on Blaby and nearby villages.

Maps

Multi Media Mapping have a current map showing the location of Blaby.

Poorhouses, Poor Law.

The Blaby Union, formed in 1836, comprised of 30 civil parishes. The union workhouse, built in 1837, was situated in Enderby and was capable of housing 300 inmates. The 1871 census shows 53 paupers in residence.

The Rossbret Workhouse site includes a page for the Blaby Union which includes details of officers and staff of the union in 1899 along with a list of the workhouse records held by the Record Office for Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland.

Return to top of page

This parish page was developed by Tim Arguile. Follow this link to find help, report problems or contribute information.
Valid HTML 4.0! Last updated: 10-October-2007 - Louis R. Mills