GENUKI Home page
Leicestershire Home Page LEICESTERSHIRE   Leicestershire Switch Page Contents   Leicestershire Towns & Parishes Leicestershire
Towns & Parishes
 

Braunstone

Description in 1877:
"BRAUNSTONE, a pleasant and picturesque village, 2 miles S.W. of Leicester, gives name to a township and chapelry in Glenfield parish, and in 1871 had 215 inhabitants, living in 39 houses, on about 1783 acres of land, partly of strong clay, and partly light and sandy, crossed by the Roman Fosseway, and bounded on the east by the River Soar, and on the north by the borough of Leicester. Captain R G Pochin, the lord of the manor and owner of most of the soil, resides at the HALL, a neat, plain mansion, which was built about 1775, by the late C. Winstanley, Esq. It stands in a well wooded park of 100 acres, and commands interesting views of Leicester and the adjacent country." [Whites's History, Gazetteer and Directory of the Counties of Leicester and Rutland. 3rd Edition, 1877]

Church Records

The Society of Genealogists holds copies of parish registers including marriages from 1561 - 1837 which can be studied at their library in London.

The original records are held at the The Record Office for Leicestershire, Leicester & Rutland.

Description and Travel

Leicestershire Parish Councils have a brief description of the parish (known as Braunstone Town) on their website.

Maps

Multi Media Mapping have a current map showing the location of Braunstone.

Return to top of page

This parish page was developed by Tim Arguile


Last updated 25 August 2004 - David Hawgood