We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.


Description in 1877:
"ENDERBY, a large and populous village and parish, with many framework knitters, is situated on a pleasant declivity, on the west side of the vale of the Soar, 5 miles S.W. by S. of Leicester. Its parish which is in Sparkenhoe Hundred, Blaby Union, and Leicester County Court District, contained 1,390 inhabitants in 1871, living in 310 houses, on 1810 acres of land. This return contains 53 paupers in Blaby Union Workhouse, which is situated about a mile east of the village, and near the bridge which crosses the Soar. The parish is bounded on the east by the river, and on the north by a small rivulet which divides it from Braunstone. The soil is partly clay, and in some parts a light loam, and the ground is rocky and well wooded."
[White's "History, Gazetteer and Directory of the Counties of Leicester and Rutland." 3rd Edition 1877]

Archives and Libraries

  • Enderby Library
  • Townsend Road
  • Enderby, Leicestershire, LE19 4PG
  • Tele: 0116 286 2091



  • The parish was the centre of the Enderby subdistrict in the Blaby Registration District from 1896 to 1974.
  • The 1851 Census for Leicestershire has been indexed by the Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society. Volume 4 covers the Enderby sub-district.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 600
1861 R.G. 9 / 2258
1871 R.G. 10 / 3233 & 3234
1891 R.G. 12 / 2500


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Enderby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. John the Baptist.
  • The church was originally built about 1230.
  • The church was rebuilt in 1868, except for the tower.
  • The church seats 500.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1559.
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Guthlaxton (first portion).
  • The Society of Genealogists holds copies of parish registers including baptisms from 1559 - 1656, marriages from 1560 - 1837 and burials from 1567 - 1656 which can be studied at their library in London.
  • The original records are held at the Leicestershire Records Office
  • The Congregationalists built a chapel in Chapel Street in 1822 and rebuilt it in 1910.
  • The Primitive Methodists built a chapel in Cross Street before 1881.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was the centre of the Enderby subdistrict in the Blaby Registration District from 1896 to 1974.

Description and Travel

This large village, township and parish lie on the west side of the vale of the River Soar, 5 miles southwest of Leicester and 100 miles north of London. Narborough is just to the south. The parish covers just over 1,670 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the M1 Motorway (or the M69 Motorway) to the B582 arterial road soutwest out of Leicester. The village is just south off of the B582 between the M1 and M69 Motorways.
  • The parish has its own website.
You can see pictures of Enderby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Enderby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • During the 1800s and early 1900s, most of the inhabitants were employed in the quarries, in boot making and as frame-work knitters.


  • Enderby Hall, the seat of the DRUMMOND family and the MITCHELL family before them, was the residence of Frederick R. DONISTHORPE in 1912. It stands in a park of about 80 acres.


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SP537994 (Lat/Lon: 52.589729, -1.208763), Enderby which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • The village name appears in the 1086 Domesday Book as "Andretesbie" and " Endrebie".

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish of Leicestershire and a township, as well.
  • The parish was in the Sparkenhoe Hundred (Wapentake) in the southern division of the county.
  • On 1 April, 1935, this parish was reduced by 290 acres to enlarge Lubbesthorpe civil parish.
  • You can contact the local Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to assist you with family history research.
  • District governance is provided by the Blaby District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Leicester petty session hearings.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Blaby Poorlaw Union.


Year Inhabitants
1841 1,336
1871 1,390
1881 1,677
1891 2,399
1901 2,638
1911 2,667
1921 2,635
1931 3,040
1951 3,378
1961 4,024


  • A County Council School opened here in September, 1906, large enough for 330 children.
  • A Church of England School (National School) was endowed in 1759 by Richard SMITH. It stood on Blaby Road and was last enlarged in 1891and in 1896 to hold 400 children.
  • A Church of England Infants' School was built on Cross Street in 1880. It was enlarged in 1891 to hold 200 students.


The Enderby Heritage Society has a heritage map of the village and sponsors heritage walks.