We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Long Clawson

Description in 1877:
"Clawson, or Claxton, is a long straggling village and parish, in the south-western part of the Vale of Belvoir, 6 miles N. by W. of Melton Mowbray, and 13 miles S. by E. of Nottingham. It is in Framland Hundred, Melton Mowbray Union and County Court District, and in 1871 contained 780 persons, living in 184 homes, on 3450 acres of land, having a rateable value of £5,326 16s 3d. It is bounded on the north by the Nottingham and Grantham Canal, and on the south by a range of the Wold hills, in which the River Smite has its source, about 3 miles south of the village; on the west side of which is an eminence called Slyborough Hill. The parish was enclosed in 1779, and the soil is chiefly clay."
White's "History, Gazetteer and Directory of the Counties of Leicester and Rutland. 3rd Edition," 1877

Cemeteries

  • The Long Clawson Cemetery was formed in 1903 and only covers 1/2 acre. It was placed under the control of the Burial Board of the Parish Council.

Census

  • The parish was in the Clawson sub-district of the Melton Mowbray Registration District.
  • In 1935, the parish was transfered to the Waltham sub-district of the Melton and Belvoir Registration District.
  • The 1851 Census for Leicestershire has been indexed by the Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society. The whole index is available on microfiche. The society has also published it in print.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 587
1861 R.G. 9 / 2302
1871 R.G. 10 / 3296
1891 R.G. 12 / 2545

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Long Clawson area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Remigius.
  • The church is often simply called "Saint Remi's".
  • The church was built around the 14th century.
  • The church was thoroughly restored in 1893.
  • The church seats 300.
  • Guy Etchells has included a photograph of St. Remigius Parish Church on his web site.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1558.
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Framland (third portion).
  • The Society of Genealogists holds copies of the parish registers covering marriages from 1558 - 1837 which can be studied at their library in London.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel built here in 1840.
  • The Baptists had a chapel built here in 1845.
  • The Primitive Methodists had a chapel built here in 1868.

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
  • The parish was in the Clawson sub-district of the Melton Mowbray Registration District.
  • In 1935, the parish was transfered to the Waltham sub-district of the Melton and Belvoir Registration District.

Description and Travel

Long Clawson is a straggling village and a large parish at the foot of the Wold Hills and on the River Smyte (Smite). The parish lies 112 miles north of London and about 6 miles north of Melton Mobray. The parish was a rough rectangle shape tilted to stand on one corner. The parish covered 3,581 acres and bordered Nottinghamshire on the north.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, from the A606 trunk road, turn northeast at Nether Broughton to arrive at Long Clawson.
  • Bus service runs through the village connecting it to Melton and to Bottesford.
You can see pictures of Long Clawson which are provided by:

Genealogy

  • Guy Etchells' site "The Guys of Bottesford" has details of the Guy family who lived and were buried in Long Clawson as far back as 1450.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Long Clawson has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • The parish was mostly pastureland.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK720270 (Lat/Lon: 52.835692, -0.932638), Long Clawson which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This place was an "ancient parish" of Leicestershire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the Framland Hundred (Wapentake) in the northern division of the county.
  • On 1 April, 1936, the old Civil Parish parish was abolished and merged with others to create Clawson and Harby Civil Parish.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • The Common Land was enclosed here in 1779.
  • Bastardy cases would be herad in the Melton Mowbray petty session hearings.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, this parish became part of the Melton Mowbray Poorlaw Union.

Population

Year Inhabitants
1841 838
1871 780
1881 738
1891 753
1901 776
1911 735
1921 657
1931 664

Schools

  • A Free School was founded here in 1793 by Mr. John GARTON. This was replaced by the school below.
  • A Public Elementary School was built here in 1849 to hold 150 children.