GENUKI Home page
Leicestershire Home Page LEICESTERSHIRE   Leicestershire Switch Page Contents   Leicestershire Towns & Parishes Leicestershire
Towns & Parishes
 

Long Clawson

"Clawson, or Claxton, is a long straggling village and parish, in the south-western part of the Vale of Belvoir, 6 miles N. by W. of Melton Mowbray, and 13 miles S. by E. of Nottingham. It is in Framland Hundred, Melton Mowbray Union and County Court District, and in 1871 contained 780 persons, living in 184 homes, on 3450 acres of land, having a rateable value of £5326 16s 3d. It is bounded on the north by the Nottingham and Grantham Canal, and on the south by a range of the Wold hills, in which the River Smite has its source, about 3 miles south of the village; on the west side of which is an eminence called Slyborough Hill. The parish was enclosed in 1779, and the soil is chiefly clay."[White's History, Gazetteer and Directory of the Counties of Leicester and Rutland. 3rd Edition 1877]

Bibliography.

Census

The 1851 Census for Leicestershire has been indexed by the Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society. The whole index is available on microfiche. The society has also published it in print and Volume 25 covers the Clawson Sub-District.

Church Records

The Society of Genealogists holds copies of the parish registers covering marriages from 1558 - 1837 which can be studied at their library in London.

Description and Travel.

The MeltonWeb site includes a description of Long Clawson along with all the other villages in the Borough.

Guy Etchells has included a photograph of St. Remigius Parish Church on his web site.

Genealogy.

Guy Etchells' site "The Guys of Bottesford" has details of the Guy family who lived and were buried in Long Clawson as far back as 1450.

Return to top of page

This parish page was developed by Tim Arguile


Last updated: 25 August 2004 - David Hawgood