Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Sapcote

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

Sapcote

Description in 1871:
"SAPCOTE, a parish, with a village, in Hinckley district, Leicester; adjacent to the river Soar, the Fosseway, and the Hinckley and Leicester railway, 2 miles W N W of Broughton-Astley r. station, and 4 E by S of Hinckley. Post-town, Hinckley. Acres, 1,380. Real property, £4,158. Pop., 668. Houses, 159. The property is subdivided. Frame-work knitting is carried on; stone is quarried; and there is a mineral spring, with a bath-house. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Peterborough. Value, £625. Patron, T. Frewen, Esq. The church is old, was recently repaired, and has a tower and spire. There are a Wesleyan chapel, an endowed school, and five alms-houses."
John Marius Wilson's "Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales," 1870-72

topup

Cemeteries

Sapcote has a cemetery out by Donkey Lane off Basset Lane, south-west of the village. The area is considered a "Nature Spot" for observing wildlife..

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Hinckley sub-district of the Hinckley Registration District.
     
  • The 1851 Census for Leicestershire has been indexed by the Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society. The whole index is available on microfiche. The society has also published it in print and Volume 6 covers the Burbage and Earl Shilton sub-district which includes Sapcote.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 603
1861 R.G. 9 / 2259
1871 R.G. 10 / 3235
1891 R.G. 12 / 2502

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Sapcote area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church was dedicated to All Saints.
     
  • The church was built in Norman times and contains a western tower.
     
  • The church was thoroughly restored and an organ chamber added in 1886.
     
  • The church seats 257.
     
  • Stephen McKAY has a photograph of All Saints Church on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2006.
     
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1564 for baptisms and from 1579 for marriages and burials.
     
  • The church was in the rural Guthlaxton deanery (second portion).
     
  • The Society of Genealogists holds microfiche copies of parish registers which include details of baptisms from 1564 -1921, marriages from 1579 - 1812 and burials from 1579 - 1918 which can be studied at their library in London.
     
  • The original records are held at the Record Office for Leicestershire, Leicester & Rutland.
     
  • The Wesleyan Methodist chapel built in 1904 replaces the original one, built in 1805.
     
  • Ian ROB has a photograph of the Sapcote Methodist Church on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2012.
     
topup

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     
  • The parish was in the Hinckley sub-district of the Hinckley Registration District.
     
topup

Description and Travel

Sapcote is a village and a parish 10 miles south-west of Leicester city and 4 miles east of Hinckley. The parish covers 1,550 acres.

The land around the village has been mostly pasture for centuries. If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, the village is just south of Stoney Stanton off the M69 motorway.
     
  • Golden Well is a mineral spring with reputed medicinal qualities.
     

You can see pictures of Sapcote which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Sapcote to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Sapcote has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

  • Sapcote Heritage Group meets once each month at the parish church.
     
  • Stone quarrying was an ancient occupation in the parish. It provided employment into the 20th century.
     
  • Roman coins and other antiquities have been found here.
     
  • Stephen McKAY has a photograph of the Red Lion Inn on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2006.The Inn is still an active pub with a Facebook page for locals.
     
Year  Person
1849 William CLARKE
1861 Edmund CLARKE
1881 Edmund CLARKE
1912 Mrs. Martha THROSSELL
1925 Mrs. Martha THROSSELL
topup

Manors

  • The Barons BASSET once had a castle here, but only a trace of the moat remains. The barony was created in 1264.
     
topup
topup

Military History

  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the War Memorial on the west side of the church on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2011.
     
  • The War Memorial was dedicated in September 1921. The garden is located on Church Street. There are 24 names listed on the monument.
     
  • There are three Commonwealth War Graves in the churchyard burial ground: Two from World War I and one from World War II.
     
topup

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Leicester county and it became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • The parish lies partly in the Sparkenhoe Hundred in the western division of the county.
     
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, this parish became part of the Hinckley Poorlaw Union.
     
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Market Bosworth petty sessional hearings.
     
  • Thomas FREWEN had five almshouses built in 1847.
     
topup

Population

 Year Inhabitants
1801 555
1811 692
1821 797
1831 871
1841 773
1851 724
1901 845
1931 862
topup

Schools

  • The Public Elementary School was built in 1819 and enlarged in 1907 to hold up to 239 children.
     
  • Ian ROB has a photogarph of the Old School on Geo-graph, taken in . A new school now replaces that old building.