GENUKI Home page
GENUKI Home Page LEICESTERSHIRE   Leicestershire Contents Switch Contents   Leicestershire Towns & Parishes Leicestershire
Towns & Parishes
  Neighbours Nearby
places

Sapcote

Census

The 1851 Census for Leicestershire has been indexed by the Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society. The whole index is available on microfiche. The society has also published it in print and Volume 6 covers the Burbage and Earl Shilton Sub-District which includes Sapcote.

Church Records

The Society of Genealogists holds microfiche copies of parish registers which include details of baptisms from 1564 -1921, marriages from 1579 - 1812 and burials from 1579 - 1918 which can be studied at their library in London.

The original records are held at the Record Office for Leicestershire, Leicester & Rutland

Description and Travel

Leicestershire Villages provide a Sapcote Village Web Site

History.

Sapcote Heritage Group have several pages detailing the history of the village.

Maps

Multi Media Mapping have a current map showing the location of Sapcote.

Poorhouses, Poor Law.

Sapcote was part of the Hinckley Poor Law Union. The union workhouse, built in 1838, was situated in London Road, Hinckley and was capable of housing 450 paupers although the number of inhabitants does not seem to have approached this figure. The 1871 census shows 76 paupers in residence.

Return to top of page


This parish page was developed by Tim Arguile. Follow this link to find help, report problems or contribute information.
Valid HTML 4.0! Last updated: 27 August 2004 - David Hawgood