Sapcote
Description in 1871:
"SAPCOTE, a parish, with a village, in Hinckley district, Leicester; adjacent to the river Soar, the Fosseway, and the Hinckley and Leicester railway, 2 miles W N W of Broughton-Astley r. station, and 4 E by S of Hinckley. Post-town, Hinckley. Acres, 1,380. Real property, £4,158. Pop., 668. Houses, 159. The property is subdivided. Frame-work knitting is carried on; stone is quarried; and there is a mineral spring, with a bath-house. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Peterborough. Value, £625. Patron, T. Frewen, Esq. The church is old, was recently repaired, and has a tower and spire. There are a Wesleyan chapel, an endowed school, and five alms-houses."
John Marius Wilson's "Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales," 1870-72
- The parish was in the Hinckley sub-district of the Hinckley Registration District.
- The 1851 Census for Leicestershire has been indexed by the Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society. The whole index is available on microfiche. The society has also published it in print and Volume 6 covers the Burbage and Earl Shilton sub-district which includes Sapcote.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2259 |
| 1891 |
R.G. 12 / 2502 |
- The Anglican parish church was dedicated to All Saints.
- The church was built in Norman times and contains a western tower.
- The church was thoroughly restored in 1886.
- The church seats 257.
- The Anglican parish register dates from 1564 for baptisms and from 1579 for marriages and burials.
- The church was in the rural Guthlaxton deanery (second portion).
- The Society of Genealogists holds microfiche copies of parish registers which include details of baptisms from 1564 -1921, marriages from 1579 - 1812 and burials from 1579 - 1918 which can be studied at their library in London.
- The original records are held at the Record Office for Leicestershire, Leicester & Rutland.
- The Wesleyan Methodist chapel built in 1904 replaces the original one, built in 1805.
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
- The parish was in the Hinckley sub-district of the Hinckley Registration District.
Sapcote is a village and a parish 10 miles southwest of Leicester city and 4 miles east of Hinckley. The parish covers 1,550 acres.
The land around the village has been mostly pasture for centuries. If you are planning a visit:
- By automobile, the village is just south of Stoney Stanton off the M69 motorway.
- Goden Well is a mineral spring with reputed medicinal qualities.
- Leicestershire Villages provide a
Sapcote Village Web Site.
-
Sapcote Heritage Group, working with the Sapcote Library, have several pages detailing the history of the village.
- Stone quarrying was an ancient occupation in the parish.
- Roman coins and other antiquities have been found here.
- The Barons BASSET once had a castle here, but only a trace of the moat remains. The barony was created in 1264.
- The national grid reference is SP 4993.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The parish lies partly in the Sparkenhoe Hundred in the western division of the county.
- As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, this parish became part of the Hinckley Poorlaw Union.
- Bastardy cases would be heard in the Market Bosworth petty sessional hearings.
- Thomas FREWEN had five almshouses built in 1847.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
555 |
| 1811 |
692 |
| 1821 |
797 |
| 1831 |
871 |
| 1841 |
773 |
| 1851 |
724 |
| 1901 |
845 |
| 1931 |
862 |
- The Public Elementary School was built in 1819 and enlarged in 1907 to hold up to 239 children.
Follow this link to find help, report problems or contribute information.
Last revised: 16-November-2011 - Louis R. Mills]