We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Addlethorpe

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Burgh sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
  • We have an extract of a small portion of the 1901 surname index which you are welcome to review or add to.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 626
1851 H.O. 107 / 2110
1861 R.G. 9 / 2376
1871 R.G. 10 / 3393B
1881 R.G. 11 / 3257
1891 R.G. 12 / 2604
1901 R.G. 13 / 3077

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Addlethorpe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church on Old Church Road is dedicated to Saint Nicholas and was built between 1360 and 1420.
  • The church chancel was pulled down in 1706.
  • The church was partially repaired in 1875.
  • The church seats about 250.
  • Tony ATKIN provides a photograph of the church under repair in 2006 at Geo-graph.
  • Here is a photograph of St. Nicholas Church supplied by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Nicholas Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1542.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Calcewaith and Candleshoe Deanery to make your search easier.
  • A Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built in 1837 but this has been replaced by a new facility. For information and assistance in researching Methodist chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Michael PATTERSON has a photograph of the Methodist church at Geo-graph, taken in August, 2006.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Burgh sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Addlethorpe is both a "scattered" village and a parish that lies in the Orby Marsh about a mile from the North Sea, 1 mile west of Ingoldmells and 3 miles north of Skegness off the A52 trunk road. Winthorpe parish is immediately to the south. The parish covered 2,006 acres, most of which is converted salt marsh.

If you are planning a visit:

  • For folks on holiday, there is a caravan park near the village.
  • For the enthusiast, Mill Lakes offers fishing.
  • The village sports an indoor bowling facility and outside, there's golf.
  • Visit our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Addlethorpe which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Addlethorpe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • In 1842, the only pub listed in the parish was "Berties Arms", with Ann MAWER as the victualler. That pub is listed in 1868, but the King's Head is not. Could it be that the name changed?
  • The King's Head Public House was a popular conversation spot. The inn is still functioning and has its own website. Here is a 1909 postcard bearing an image of the King's Head Inn (contributed by Linda J. BAILEY):

Kings Head Inn

  • These are the names associated with the place in various directories (the 1868 entry is for Bertie's Arms):
Year  Person
1842 -- not listed --
1868 John Foster MERRILL, vict.
1872 John Foster MERRILL, vict.
1882 Josiah Kenman SIMPSON
1900 William GIBSON
1913 George CONYERS
1930 George CONYERS

John F. MERRILL was born in Thorpe, LIN, circa 1840 and can be found in the 1871 census in Addlethorpe.

There was no lodger at the King's Head in 1881. Here is the census entry (RG 11/3257 folio 36):

Relationship Name Sex Age Where born
Head Josiah Kirkham SIMPSON M 31 Thorpe, Lincolnshire
wife Emma SIMPSON F 30 Stickney, Lincolnshire
son Joseph Bagley SIMPSON M 5 Addlethorpe, Lincolnshire
son Kerman SIMPSON M 3 Addlethorpe, Lincolnshire
daugh. Edith SIMPSON F 1 Addlethorpe, Lincolnshire
servant Sarah BUTLER F 13 Ingoldmells, Lincolnshire

Manors

  • Addlethorpe House was formerly surrounded by a moat.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF549689 (Lat/Lon: 53.194606, 0.317270), Addlethorpe which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • The name Addlethorpe is from the Old Scandinavian Eardwulf+thorp, or "hamlet of Eardwulf". It appeared in the 1086 Domesday Book as Arduluetorp.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the Marsh division of the ancient Candleshoe Wapentake in the East Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • You can contact the local Parish Council about political issues, but they are not staffed to answer family history questions.
  • For today's district governance, visit the East Lindsey District Council.
  • In February, 1926, a portion of Winthorpe Civil Parish was annexed to this Civil Parish when Winthorpe was dissolved.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • In 1710, Samuel MOTTRAM of Addlethorpe Hall bequeathed a cottage and a half acre of land as a residence for two poor people of the parish.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the Bede Cottages at Geo-graph, taken in March, 2010.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Spilsby Poor Law Union.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spilsby petty session hearings.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 190
1811 192
1821 176
1831 175
1841 238
1851 288
1871 240
1881 246
1891 224
1901 211
1911 213
1921 201
1951 295
1961 282
1991 320

Schools

  • Circa 1871, children in Addlethorpe attended primary school at Ingoldmells.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.