Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Anwick

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.



  • St Edith, Church Lane, Church of England


  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 614
1861 R.G. 9 / 2342
1871 R.G. 10 / 3349
1881 R.G. 11 / 3222


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Anwick area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church was dedicated to Saint Edith.
  • The tower of the church has looked out over the Fens for 600 years. The church itself dates from the 13th century.
  • The church was restored in 1859.
  • The church chancel was rebuilt in 1900.
  • The church spire was struck by lightning on 8 February, 1906.
  • The church seats 206.
  • There is a photograph of St. Edith's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Edith's Church on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2006.
  • Here is a photograph St. Edith Church supplied by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Edith Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1573.
  • We have the beginnings of a Parish Register extract in a pop-up text file. Your additions would be welcomed.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here in 1885.
  • J. HANNAH-BRIGGS has a photograph of the Anwick Methodist Church on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2011.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This small village and parish are nearly 5 miles north-east of Sleaford, in a rural, agricultural area. Ewerby parish lies to the south and Ruskington parish to the north-west. The eastern part of the parish is bounded by the Car Dyke. The parish covers just under 2,000 acres.

The Sleaford Canal passes just south of the village. If you are planning a visit:

  • Anwick lies on the A153 trunk road.
  • If you are lucky, you might see some Swans on the River Slea as Jim THORNTON did in this photograph on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2006.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Anwick which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Anwick has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • Richard CROFT captures a little local history with this photograph of the Drake Stones on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2006.


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF114505 (Lat/Lon: 53.040158, -0.339915), Anwick which are provided by:

Military History

  • In October, 1916, the Royal Flying Corps had an airfield at Anwick. It was in use until 1918 and closed in June, 1919.
  • The airfield was re-opened as a decoy airfield in 1939 and closed again in August, 1942.
  • The airfield was at grid co-ordinates TF 109 519.

Names, Geographical

  • Anwick is from the Old English Amma+wic, meaning "village of Amma". It appears as Amuinc in the 1086 Domesday Book, and as Amewic in 1218.
    A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991.
  • Many locals pronounce the name as "Annick".

Names, Personal


Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and it became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Flaxwell Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
  • You may contact the local Anwick Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed nor funded to provide family history searches.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings.
  • The common lands were enclosed here in 1791.
  • The parish was entitled to send a poor man to Carr's Hospital in Sleaford.
  • In 1684, William JOLLEY left some land to the poor. In 1794, that was exchanged for 2 acres which were let to nine cottagers.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 209
1831 235
1841 310
1871 324
1891 261
1911 255


  • A Church of England School was built here in 1873 to hold 60 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.