Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Appleby

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.




  • The parish was in the Winterton sub-district of the Glanford Brigg Registration District.
  • We have an extract of a small portion of the 1901 census which you are welcome to review or add to.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 626
1861 R.G. 9 / 2400
1871 R.G. 10 / 3432
1881 R.G. 11 / 3286
1891 R.G. 12 / 2627


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Appleby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • About a mile south of the village of Appleby is Thornholm where there was a Priory of Augustine canons founded by King Stephen. Only traces of the foundations survive today. The Priory was dissolved in 1538.
  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Bartholomew.
  • The church was rebuilt around 1838.
  • The church nave and tower were partly rebuilt in 1882.
  • The church seats 210.
  • There is a photograph of St. Bartholomew's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site, taken by Paul Fenwick.
  • Another church photograph is in the Appleby village web site.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Bartholomew's Church on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2005.
  • Here is a photograph St. Bartholomew's Church supplied by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Bartholomew's Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1576.
  • We have a handful of baptisms in our parish register extract. Your additions to this are welcome.
  • The parish lies in the Manlake Deanery, for which several Marriage Indexes exist.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the was in the Winterton sub-district of the Glanford Brigg Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village and parish is in the north of Lincolnshire on the old Roman Road known as Ermine Street, just a few miles from the conubation of Scunthorpe. The Old River Ancholme flows by just east of the village. The parish of Roxby with Risby borders on the north and west, with Broughton parish to the south. From the M180 motorway, take exit 4 and head due north until you come on to the B1207. Follow that road into Appleby.

The fine stand of forest in the south of the parish is part of the Broughton Woodlands. The parish covers 6164 acres of land. It includes the hamlets of High and Low Santon (near Scunthorpe) and Raventhorpe. If you are planning a visit:

  • There are some photographs and more about the village at Appleby, Lincolnshire.
  • By automobile: from the M180 motorway, take exit 4 and head due north until you come on to the B1207. Follow that road into Appleby.
  • Check out our Lincolnshire touring page.
You can see pictures of Appleby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Appleby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • The Romans made pottery at Santon in Appleby parish.
  • There was a slag works in Appleby in the late 1800s and early 1900s. The materials were used for roads.
  • The village used to hold a Pleasure Fair every June 10th.
  • There is a well-worked bed of ironstone under Appleby.


  • The main part of Appleby Hall was destroyed by fire in 1933, leaving only the servants' quarters and the stables.
  • David WRIGHT has a photograph of the 1725 Manor House on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2005.


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SE949149 (Lat/Lon: 53.622040, -0.566653), Appleby which are provided by:

Military History

David WRIGHT has a photograph of the Appleby War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2005.

Military Records

For a photograph of the Appleby War Memorial and the list of names on the plaque, see the Roll of Honour site.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Appleby is from the Old Scandinavian aeppel+by, or "farmstead where apples grow". In 1130, the village name is given as Aplebi. The name also appears in Leicestershire.
    ["A Dictionary of English Place-Names," A. D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1991].

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Manley Wapentake in the North Lindsey division in the parts of Lindsey.
  • You can contact the Parish Council regarding civic or political matters, but they are NOT staffed to assist with family history searches.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Lincolnshire Council website.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 394
1831 517
1871 607
1891 610
1911 632
2001 597


  • A parish school was built in 1850 by Charles Winn and was attended by 100 students.
  • See our Schools page for more information on researching school records.