Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Ashby de la Launde

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Ashby de la Launde

Cemeteries

  • St Hibald, Church Avenue, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 614
1861 R.G. 9 / 2342
1871 R.G. 10 / 3349
1891 R.G. 12 / 2577

Churches

  • St Hibald, Church Avenue, Church of England

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ashby de la Launde area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Hibald (Hybald or Hibbald).
  • Many parts of the church have been dated to the 13th and 14th centuries. Edward KINGE restored the church here in 1605.
  • The church was rebuilt in 1854.
  • The church only seats about 100 people.
  • The area of this parish once belonged to the Knights Templer at Temple Bruer.
  • A photograph of Saint Hibald's church is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • Fiona has a black and white photograph of St. Hibald's Church on Flickr, taken in October 2012.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Hibald's Church on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2006.
  • Here is a photograph of St. Hibald's Church supplied by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Hibald Church

Church Records

  • The parish register dates from 1695.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1695 to 1812 and Marriages from 1695 to 1809.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village and parish is about six miles north of Sleaford. The parish is large, but the village is limited to the two sides of the road. The parish of Scopwick lies to the northeast and Temple Bruer to the northwest, with Ruskington parish to the south.

Ashby de la Launde village lies just north of a rivulet that feeds the River Witham. If you are planning a visit:

  • The A15 arterial road passes to the west of the village, but the B1191 trunk road will take you to the west end of the village.
  • Mike PENNINGTONT has a photograph of the Village Hall in Church Avenue on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2013. Stop in and ask for a schedule of forth-coming events. This building was part of RAF Digby station until moved here, presumably after World War II.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Ashby de la Launde which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Ashby de la Launde has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • The DE LE LAUNDE family acquired this parish in the 14th century, by marriage with the ASHBYs. They were later succeeded by the KINGE (or KING) family, who became the new Lords of the Manor.

Manors

  • The gabled Hall was built in 1595 by Edward KINGE and has a lake near it.
  • In 1871 Ashby-Laund House was the seat of J. W. KING, Esq.
  • After the RAF left the Hall in 1946, it fell into disrepair and was derelict until 1961.

Maps

  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF055550 (Lat/Lon: 53.081790, -0.426404), Ashby de la Launde which are provided by:

Military History

  • In the churchyard is a stone cross with a canopy erected after World War I in memory of the 13 men of the parish who died during that war. Their names are carved on the base of the cross.
  • During World War II Ashby Hall was used by RAF Digby. Originally taken in 1940 by the Accounts Section. In 1942 609 squadron pilots took up residence. They were shortly replaced by Canadian RAF squadron 411.

Names, Geographical

  • The manor took its name from the "Essheby" family.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and it became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Flaxwell Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, parts of Kesteven.
  • In April, 1931, this parish was abolished and merged with Bloxholm Civil Parish.
  • For today's governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 127
1811 124
1841 157
1871 161
1881 169
1891 167
1901 210
1911 192
1921 200

Schools

  • There was a school here by 1900.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.