Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Aswardby

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Aswardby

Note: This is NOT Aswarby parish. Note the missing "D" in that parish name.

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Spilsby sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 626
1851 H.O. 107 / 2109
1861 R.G. 9 / 2375
1871 R.G. 10 / 3393A
1891 R.G. 12 / 2603

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Aswardby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Helen.
  • The church is built of stone and brick.
  • The church was repaired in 1884.
  • The church seats just 50.
  • David HITCHBORNE has a photograph of St. Helen's Church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2007.
  • Here is a photograph St. Helen's Church supplied by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Helen Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1754.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1760 to 1811 and Marriages from 1754 to 1812.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Bolingbroke Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The church is listed in 1900 as being in the rural deanery of Hill No. 2.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here prior to 1871. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Spilsby sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Aswardby is both a village and a parish, about 4 miles north-west of Spilsby. Sausthorpe parish is to the south. The parish only covers about 744 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Aswardby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Aswardby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF378704 (Lat/Lon: 53.212783, 0.062136), Aswardby which are provided by:

Military History

  • A War Memorial, shared with Sausthorpe parish, was dedicated in January, 1922. The Lincoln Archives have a copy of a document relating to the dedication.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were created.
  • The parish was in the ancient Hill Wapentake (Hill Hundred) in the East Lindsey division of the county, in the parts of Lindsey.
  • Kelly's 1900 and 1913 Directories of Lincolnshire put the parish, perhaps erroneously, in the South Lindsey division of the county.
  • You may contact the Aswardby Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are Not funded nor staffed to assist you with family history searches.
  • For today's district governance, see the East Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spilsby petty session hearings every other Monday.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Spilsby Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 59
1831 80
1841 92
1871 60
1881 58
1891 89
1901 69
1911 85

Schools

  • The children of this parish attended school at Sausthorpe.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.