We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Aubourn

Cemeteries

  • St Peter, Bassingham Road, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the South West sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • There is a good transcript site for the 1861 census for the area around Auborn, compliments of Wendy PARKINSON.
  • The North Lincolnshire Library holds copies of the census returns for 1881.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 614
1851 H.O. 107 / 2104
1861 R.G. 9 / 2354
1871 R.G. 10 / 3365
1891 R.G. 12 / 2587

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Aubourn area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • This section has been moved to a separate page due to size. It now includes two photographs of the Saint Peter's Church. Click HERE.

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers exist from 1749, but Bishop's transcripts go back to 1562.
  • Parish registers are on file at the Society of Genealogists, covering 1562 - 1837.
  • Parish marriages are in Boyd's Marriage Index, covering 1562 - 1837 and Pallot's Marriage Index, covering 1790 - 1837.
  • The LFHS has published several indexes (marriage and burial) for the Graffoe Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Parish marriages are in Boyd's Marriage Index, covering 1651 - 1837 and Pallot's Marriage Index, covering 1790 - 1837.
  • A small Weslyean Methodist chapel was established about 1805 and completely rebuilt in 1845. For information on researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the South West sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Aubourn (sometimes "Auborn") is both an ancient village and a parish. The parish is on the south side of the River Witham as it makes its way north and east to Lincoln. Several small streams flow northward into the Witham here, including the River Brant. The parish lies about 7 miles SSW of the city of Lincoln. The parish includes the hamlet of Marlborough which is one mile south of the village of Aubourn. The parish covers about 2,110 acres if you count the portion of Haddington parish that was ceeded to it for ecclesiastical purposes.

The small village of Aubourn lies at the junction of three roads and is just south of the A46 trunk road and west of the A15 trunk road. If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Aubourn which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Aubourn has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • In 1871, most of the land was owned by Ralph NEVILE, Esq., and Benjamin H. THOROLD, Esq. In 1913, Mr. G. H. NEVILE was the principal landowner.
  • The parish did not have its own railway station, but residents used one at either Thorpe on the Hill on the Midland Railway or Harmston on the Great Northern Railway.
  • Retired Rear-Admiral Robert Cathcart Kemble LAMBERT lived in this parish in 1930.
  • A popular spot for local news and gossip was the 16th century Royal Oak Public House on Royal Oak Lane. Julain P. GUFFOGG has a photograph of the Royal Oak Pub on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2011.
  • The Royal Oak Pub has its own website.
  • These are the names associated with the Royal Oak in various directories:
Year  Person
1842 -- Not listed by name --
1868 -- Not listed by name --
1872 John HOUGHTON, baker & vict.
1882 -- Not listed by name --
1900 John LONGMATE junr., blacksmith
1913 Mrs. Cordilia LONGMATE
1930 W. THORNDIKE

Manors

  • Aubourn Hall is made of red brick. In 1900 it was the residence of William LAMBE.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of Aubourn Hall on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2005.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK925627 (Lat/Lon: 53.153394, -0.618204), Aubourn which are provided by:

Military History

  • The War Memorial to both World Wars stands in the southeast corner of the parish churchyard and was dedicated in October, 1920. An article was printed in the Sleaford Journal on 30 October, 1920.
  • Richard CROFT also has a photograph of the War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2010.

Names, Geographical

  • The parish name derives from the Old English alor+burna, which means "stream where alder trees grow". In the 1086 Domesday Book, the name is similar to today's name, appearing as Aburne.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
  • The name also appears in old records as "Aubrough".

Names, Personal

  • The following surnames are associated with the parish in 1871 (this list is not complete): BOOTH, CHALLANS, CHERRY, CLARKE, DALTON, DOWMAN, GRIMES, HAGUE, HESLAM, HICKSON, HOUGHTON, LAMBE, LONGMATE, MANSFORD, MARSDEN, PLANT, REYNOLDS, SLEIGHT, STUART, TAYLOR, WALTON, WIEGHTMAN and WILLAN.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the lower division of the ancient Boothby Graffoe Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
  • This Civil Parish was abolished in 1931 and a new Civil Parish of Aubourn and Haddington was created.
  • You may contact the local Parish Council about civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to answer family history questions.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln (South) petty session hearings.
  • Care of the poor dates back to at least 1692 when Sir Christopher NEVILE donated £90 to purchase land.
  • In 1746 a man named SUMMERS left an additional £18 a year.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 272
1811 309
1831 356
1841 374
1851 365
1871 246
1881 213
1891 201
1901 178
1911 196
1921 212

Schools

  • A National School was built here by H. NEVILE, Esq. in 1858. It was attended by about 32 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.